# About the Editors

#### **ISSUE EDITOR**

**Cristina Pantoja Hidalgo** is a writer of fiction and nonfiction, a literary critic and scholar, with more than forty published books, including three novels, five short story collections, sixteen essay collections, and five books of literary criticism. Some of these books have received national awards, like the Carlos Palanca Grand Prize for the Novel, and several National Book Awards (given by the Manila Critics Circle and the National Book Development Board). She has also received lifetime achievement awards, like the Dangal ng Lahi Award from the Carlos Palanca Memorial Awards, the Gawad Balagtas from UMPIL, and the Parangal Hagbong from the University of Santo Tomas. Her latest books are: *Collected Stories and Tales* (UST, 2019) and *What I Wanted to Be When I Grew Up: A Writer's Early Apprenticeship* (UP Press, forthcoming). At present, Hidalgo is director of the UST Center for Creative Writing and Literary Studies. She has served as director of the UST Publishing House, the UP Press, and the UP Creative Writing Center (now the UP Institute of Creative Writing), as well as Vice President for Public Affairs of the UP System. She continues to teach graduate courses in creative writing and literature at UST and UP.

#### ASSOCIATE EDITORS

Nagsimula si **Luna Sicat Cleto** bilang mandudula, ngunit nakilala rin bilang mananaysay, kuwentista, at nobelista. Awtor siya ng dalawang nobela, ang *Makinilyang Altar* (UP Press, 2002) at *Mga Prodigal* (Anvil, 2010). Nalathala ang koleksiyon niya ng mga tulang nanalo ng Ikatlong Gantimpala sa Palanca noong 1992 sa *Bago Mo Ako Ipalaot* (High Chair, 2018). Miyembro siya ng Women Playwrights International (Philippines) at noong Marso 8, 2020, itinanghal ang kanyang dulang *Huni@Pakpak* sa CCP Women Playwrights Festival. Resident Fellow rin siya ng UP Institute of Creative Writing, at kasama sa kaguruan ng Departamento ng Filipino at Panitikan ng Pilipinas (DFPP) sa UP Diliman.

**Charlson Ong** is one of our foremost writers of fiction. He has been awarded international residencies and has spoken at many international literary festivals and conferences. He has also received numerous literary grants and awards, including the SEA Write Award, the Asiaweek Award for the Short Story, the Carlos Palanca Memorial Award, and the Rizal Award. His novel, *Embarrassment of Riches*, won the Philippine Centennial Literary Award for the novel in English. He has written two other novels, *Banyaga: A Song of War* (2007), and *Blue Angel, White Shadow* (2010), both of which won National Book Awards. His short story collections are: *Men of the East and Other Stories* (1990, 1999), *Woman of Am-Kaw and Other Stories* (1993),

*Conversion and Other Fictions* (1996), and *Of That Country We Now Speak and Other Stories* (2016). Ong teaches creative writing under the Department of English and Comparative Literature, College of Arts and Letters in UP Diliman.

#### MANAGING EDITOR

**Sarah F. Lumba** writes fiction, creative nonfiction, and scripts for TV. Her short story collection *The Shoemaker's Daughter and Other Stories* (Visprint, 2018) was a finalist in the 2019 Madrigal-Gonzalez Best First Book Award. Her other works have appeared in *The Philippines Graphic, The Manila We Know,* and *Landscapes: The Journal of the International Centre for Landscape and Language.* She is a Palanca Award winner and was a writing fellow at the 58th UP National Writers Workshop. She teaches English at UP Diliman.



# LIKHAAN: THE UP INSTITUTE OF CREATIVE WRITING

Room 3200, Pavilion 3 Palma Hall, Roxas Street UP Diliman, Quezon City

**Telephone** 8981-8500, loc. 2116, 2117, 2417

**Email** icw.upd@up.edu.ph

# Facebook facebook.com/panitikan.ph facebook.com/upicw

**Twitter** @PanitikanPH @LIKHAAN

# Staff

Ronnie C. Amuyot Arlene A. Andresio Gloria C. Evangelista Manolet V. Ferrer

#### **Project Research Assistants**

Ronah Rostata dela Peña Danielle Louise T. Madrid Cyril Viel V. Norońa Jann Raymond E. Ruedas Maylene N. Soriano

#### **Bookkeeper** Ma. Karen S. Pablo

## ROLANDO B. TOLENTINO Director

VLADIMEIR B. GONZALES Deputy Director

## Advisers

National Artist for Literature Virgilio S. Almario National Artist for Literature Bienvenido L. Lumbera National Artist for Theater Amelia Lapeña-Bonifacio University Professor Emeritus Gémino H. Abad Professor Emeritus Cristina Pantoja Hidalgo Professor Emeritus Jose Y. Dalisay Jr.

## Fellows

Professor J. Neil C. Garcia Professor Jun Cruz Reyes Professor Victor Emmanuel Carmelo D. Nadera Jr. Professor Romulo P. Baquiran Jr. Professor Luna Sicat Cleto Professor Eugene Y. Evasco Charlson Ong

#### Associates

Professor Ramon G. Guillermo Professor Anna Felicia C. Sanchez



Featuring works by:

Manuel Ortega Abis Jov Almero Mark Angeles Napoleon Arcilla III Paul Cyrian M. Baltazar Bernard Capinpin Fernando Chavez Jhoanna Lynn B. Cruz Khavn de la Cruz Daryll Delgado Allan N. Derain Jen Eusebio Ralph Fonte Krysta Lee Frost J. Neil C. Garcia Neal Amandus Gellaco Carmel Ilustrisimo Adelaimar Arias Jose Kabel Mishka Ligot Priscilla S. Macansantos Errol Merquita Ana Margarita R. Nunez Chuckberry Pascual Erik Pingol Jay Jomar Quintos Jun Cruz Reyes Paolo Miguel Tiausas Joel Toledo Emmanuel Quintos Velasco Michael Carlo Villas



